Old Dominion Monarchs basketball

The Old Dominion Monarchs basketball team represents Old Dominion University in Norfolk, Virginia, United States in NCAA Division I men’s competition.

The college’s team now competes in the Conference USA. They were the Division II national champions in 1975, champions of the inaugural CollegeInsider.com Postseason Tournament in 2009, and winners of the inaugural Vegas 16 at 2016. The group last played in 2019 in the Division I NCAA Tournament. The Monarchs are currently coached by Jeff Jones.
Old Dominion University has enjoyed an impressive basketball tradition. Since fielding its first group in 1930, Old Dominion has won 1,240 matches in 81 years, a winning percentage of .591. Founded in 1930 as the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary, the establishment gained independence in 1962 and became Old Dominion College. In 1969, University status was granted and the name was changed to Old Dominion University. The Monarchs have been chosen for postseason play 20 times since moving up to Division I in 1976–77, eight by the NCAA and ten by the NIT. Twenty-two players are accorded All-American honors since 1958, including first team selections Wilson Washington (1975–76), Joel Copeland (1973–74) and Dave Twardzik (1972–73).
Jeff Jones became the head coach of Old Dominion for its 2013-14 season, and it has led ODU 1 NIT Final Four appearance. Jones is 89-51 in four years as head coach of the Monarchs. Jeff Jones lead the Monarchs to the 2019 Conference USA Championship and also the 2019 NCAA Tournament where they will play Purdue in the first round.

Read more: worldbaseball2017.com

Comments are closed.